top of page
  • babyg

FROM TEXAS TO THE VILLE, DEL PARKER CHANGES THE GAME WITH HIS UNIQUE SOUND FOR MUSIC

From Texas to The Ville, Del Parker lets his voice be heard by using rhythm and rhyme with his soulful taste in music. Del Parker, a local hip-hop artist, started his journey growing up in the great state of Texas. Inspired by greats like Jadakiss, Kool Moe Dee, and Big Daddy Kane, Del Parker entered the local music scene with a truly soulful and dirty south type of sound. His most recent release, "Big Worm," featuring Fayetteville's own Bunce Bril, truly embodies that early 2000s hip hop we all know and love.




Parker's music is clearly at the forefront of his life and his family as he maintains as a former serviceman and single father in the music industry.


I've been in the music game since 2010; it just was hard because I was in the military, so it was kinda hard doing both..so [then] it was like a hobby to me and now that I've been out... I've been out a year and some change, so I'm like full force on it now. I've learned about to adapt, and I've built up my wordplay and transitions and all that.


Parker's journey to make it past local recognition does not stop at the studio. Parker regularly pushes his music at showcases and open mics in the city of Fayetteville.


Every now and then, I'll perform every Wednesday at Marley's off of Yadkin. They have open mics every Wednesday, and they cater to indie artists

His journey is not only meant to be only for him; his family is centered at the core of his values as the story unfolds in his song "Think Of You." This song tells how Parker became a single father, away from his kids, and the actual life circumstances he faced during that time in his life.



Of course, it's rough being away from family. I use it as motivation to write about it. My words, anybody's words, have the ability to affect someone around [me]. At first, I used to be sad about it, but being sad ain't gone help the situation, so I kind of like to use that as fuel and release it in my music.

Parker's life is well written throughout his music and his energy as an individual. Even though he's only been in the city for a small amount of time, his view on the music game, mainstream and more or less locally, is rooted in the early understandings of Hip-Hop.


The game changed to me, in my opinion, now everybody is trying to profit. There's nothing wrong with that, getting paid to do what you love to do. At the same time, when all you try to do is rap just so you can make money and all it is money to you, you lose the essence behind it. MCs were the originators, and their job was to get the party going, and they did it over it a beat. They had rhymes; they were talking about something. Even The SugarHill Gang, one of the pioneers of Hip-Hop, they talked about real-life stuff, and they did it in a way that you could understand, and you could actually feel it. I know that times have changed now; it just feels like people are in it for the wrong reasons.

Parker and his views align with many peers in the industry and creatives in the city. The music industry is forever expanding, but is the change for the advancement of each genre? Or its downfall? According to Parker, music should be intentional and give audiences more hope than demise. Del Parker and his journey will continue to grow with his next project, "My Canvas," set to release very soon to streaming services near you. To hear more insight about Del Parker, be sure to tune into his interview with BabyTalkTV that can be found on here Instagram TV.




Opmerkingen


bottom of page